TKD Program Overview

The Taekwon-Do Kids Development Program (TKD Program) is designed to teach Taekwon-Do skills, life skills and character education to young children ranging from as young as 3 or 4 years up to the ages of 7 years.

The lessons, last anywhere from 30 minutes to 45 minutes, consist of games, activities, practise drills, role playing, discussions, and stories. The students are also required to do various homework tasks from their Study Book.

In order to motivate the students the TKD Program classes are structured in a way to keep the lessons fun and interesting. Also, the TKD Program reward system ensures that all students, whatever their ability level, have the opportunity to be rewarded for being involved with the Taekwon-Do development process.

The rewards come in the form of positive feedback and awards. The awards include:

  • Attendance Award – to reward attendance.
  • Good Effort Stickers – to reward trying hard.
  • Good progress Stickers – to reward good progress.
  • Grade Awards – to reward achievement in the assessment stages of the main part of the TKD Program syllabus.
  • Special Award Badges – for rewarding the completion of set assignments relating to supplementary syllabus about danger.

The ‘Attendance Award’ is awarded every time the student attends 20 lessons. The instructor awards them a gold star badge.

The students effort and progress is monitored by the instructor and ‘Good Effort’ and ‘Good Progress’ stickers are awarded at their discretion. The sticker should be stuck onto the Student Record Card.

The Grade Awards are assessed at a grading exam and are conducted by an official TKD Program grading examiner. Most of the assessments are based on Taekwon-Do Skills and Taekwon-Do Knowledge, but also include some Coordination Skills.

There are 11 grade levels, from level 1 to level 11. The beginner starts as a level 1 student. When they pass all 11 grading exams they will have completed the TKD Program.

Before taking a grading exam, the student must complete various class and homework assignments. There are assignments for all the topics in the main syllabus. Every student should be given a Student Assignment Sheet for their grade level. The Student Assignment Sheet serves as a checklist for the student to know which assignments they need to do for that level. When a student completes a set of assignments for a particular topic, the instructor will stamp their ‘Student Record Card’. Once the student has completed all the assignment tasks for their level, they will be ready to take the grading exam.

If the student is successful in passing the grading exam, the student will be promoted to the next level and will receive a new yellow stripe on their white belt. If they complete the TKD Program by reaching level 11 they will receive a graduation certificate and be ready to enter the mainstream junior class as an 8th Kup/Yellow Belt.

In addition to the main syllabus, there is a supplementary syllabus covering the topic of ‘Danger’ including ‘Danger Awareness’ and ‘Dangerous and Hurtful Behaviour’. There are 3 Special Award Badges awarded for completing assignments relating to this topic. The 3 awards are the ‘Danger Awareness’ badge, the ‘Stranger Awareness’ badge and the ‘Bullying Awareness’ badge. The instructor keeps a record the completed class and homework assignments and awards the badges when they have completed all the assignments.

Leave a Reply